The Feet That Bring Peace

This morning we headed to a small village outside of Nairobi called Murang’a. Cecilia Mwangi, who was 2008 Miss Kenya, helped put an organization together a couple of years ago called “Ahadi” which means “promise.” Murang’a, like many villages in Africa has many people that suffer from jiggers- small insects that bite and infect their feet. Our host Walter has tried to partner with them for a few years but was never able to connect but he got a phone call yesterday morning saying that they were having a Clean Out in Murang’a and could use extra hands with washing the people’s hands and feet that were infected with jiggers. When Wes told us last night what was in store for today, I was speechless and tried to mentally picture what I was going to see. The mental picture I drew up in my head was nowhere near what I saw today. I washed the feet of a little boy by the name of Morean. His toes were black and looked as if there was no blood going to them. His toenails were long and blended in with the color of his toes. His feet in general were swollen and all beat up. His hands weren’t as bad as his feet but they were pretty beat up. His nails were yellow looking and long. Washing the jiggers from Morean’s hands and feet was something I would’ve never thought I would do in a million years. But as I was washing his feet, I would look up from time to time and he would smile at me. He had every reason in the world to be mad and not even smile at me but he chose to be happy. Morean, he had a light in his eyes that words cannot even begin to explain. Seeing his joy and happiness made me thank God for such a blessing on this earth. Although I my never see little Morean again in this life, he taught and showed me that there’s never a reason to be mad in this world. Everything will be alright in the end. This experience was beyond amazing to me. These people who have really nothing and on top of that, jiggers, know how to live a life of joy and happiness better than I do.

After we washed the feet of all the people and children that were there, we headed next door to the soccer field to do a clinic and play soccer with boys who were healthy. The field was literally dirt and rocks. We did five stations that were five minutes each. My station was the shooting station. These boys could shoot some balls! For real! After we got done with the stations, we played a real soccer game. The teams were mixed with our group and the little boys. I’ve just got to put it out there… My team won! It was neat to see all the excitement the boys had on the field. They were all going so hard and taking on anyone in their path. Some of these boys could really play soccer! I still don’t understand how some of them can play with no shoes on. It amazes me how big there hearts are and how much they love playing.

With the little time I spent with Morean and the soccer boys, my life was beyond blessed. God opened my eyes to things I’ve never seen and things I thought I would never do. The biggest thing I have learned so far is that the life I live should never be about me.

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Matthew 19:26

Staz

*For more information about jiggers go to www.jigger-ahadi.org

***A local Kenyan news station has followed us and done a 5 minute documentary on our mission. It will be shown Saturday night at 10:30pm cst and Sunday 12:30pm cst livestream on www.k24.co.ke

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by roxy swindoll on May 22, 2010 at 6:35 PM

    We are so blessed and touched by your testimony. Crying right now to see one more time God’s faithfulness in action. It’s changing us!, It really is, and we are on the other side of the world just reading your experiences! We can only imagine what it is for you guys to be used by the Lord in this powerful way. We are in complete awe of what God is doing in you and through you : )
    Praying as a family for you, covering you before the Father daily.
    For such a time as this…
    Swindolls

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nicky on May 22, 2010 at 8:40 PM

    Stazy- love you and love your heart. keep on keepin on big girl 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Carlie on May 23, 2010 at 8:13 AM

    STAZ! i loved reading this! this is awesome, you are awesome. love!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathleen Stepp on May 23, 2010 at 9:20 AM

    Thank you so much for sharing your day with us. Randall and I rush to the computer every morning to read what you amazing people have done for the day. I know God is using you there in Kenya but he is also using you here to bless us. Thank you for allowing yourselves to be his vessels.

    Kathleen Stepp

    Reply

  5. Hey Kim and missionaries –
    I just read through your blog entries and was deeply touched. I will read your experiences to my children and we will pray for you.
    I know that God has hand-picked you for this particular time and place and it is exciting to see how He is using you. As you share – He is touching us!
    The Apon Family

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lisa on May 23, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    I miss you sunshine! I’m so proud of you :]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Syliva Maddox on May 23, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    ” With the little time I spent with Morean and the soccer boys, my life was beyond blessed. God opened my eyes to things I’ve never seen and things I thought I would never do. The biggest thing I have learned so far is that the life I live should never be about me.”

    When I read these words, I gave thanks that you had the eyes to see and I truly believe you will never forget the face of little Morean. He will be with all of you forever. Each day I am amazed at how you are all so present to the gifts before you.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kay Clark Benkendorf on May 23, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    Your words brought tears to my eyes — tears of gratitude for what God is doing in the lives of these children, but also in your life, Stazy
    What a wonderful fulfillment of Jesus’ example of humility and servanthood!
    May God continue to richly bless you and the whole team.

    Praying with a full heart,
    Kay

    Reply

  9. Posted by Tanna on May 24, 2010 at 12:33 AM

    Wow Staz! I don’t even know how to express how much my heart is going crazy right now!!! Just reading your words, I could picture you there with Morean and I can only imagine the impact he made on you. I’m so excited that all of you get to experience a joy and love like this. This post just got me that much more excited about going to Kenya next week. I soooooo wish I could see y’all. I love all of you so much and I’m so pumped about what God is teaching you.

    Love,
    Tanna

    Reply

  10. Posted by Melanie Smith on May 24, 2010 at 1:18 PM

    You are all experiencing your “Christlikeness”. What an incredible experience. I love Kenya and you will never forget it either when you leave.

    Reply

  11. Posted by marci on May 26, 2010 at 7:36 PM

    Staz- loved the post. Thanks for sharing!- Marci

    Reply

Leave a Reply

